Curriculum Overview

At Hoyle Court Primary School, we follow the National Curriculum for England and Wales and, as in most other primary schools; many subjects are combined to form termly or half-termly topics or projects.

We aim to challenge our children to become independent, well-round individuals who take ownership of their learning and become deep thinkers. Moreover, we want our children to be able to apply their knowledge and skill set in a range of contexts within school and real life.

Our curriculum is based on the three core subjects – English, Mathematics and Science. The teaching of RE is based on the Bradford Curriculum, followed by the majority of Bradford schools.

Other subjects taught in school are: – Design and Technology, Information Technology, History, Geography, Art, Music, Physical Education and Personal, Social, Citizenship and Health Education.  In addition, children in Key Stage 2 (years 3-6) learn Spanish.

All work is carefully planned to ensure that children have access to the relevant areas of the curriculum according to their age and ability and that the skills of reading, writing and mathematics are practised daily throughout the school.

If would like to see in more detail, what the children learning in each years group, click the subject tabs under ‘curriculum’ from the top drop down menu.

In addition, all class teachers send home ‘Class Newsletters’ each term which detail the learning your child will be undertaking.

All our learning complies with the Equality Act 2010 and the Special Educational Needs and Disability Regulations 2014 about making the curriculum accessible for those with disabilities or special educational needs. See our Special Educational Needs page for more information.


British Values

We promote British values. At Hoyle Court we see British values as:

  • Democracy;
  • The rule of law;
  • Individual liberty;
  • Mutual respect for and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs and for those without faith

British Values at Hoyle Court

Early Values

There are seven main areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The curriculum is initiated through purposeful play, where children are encouraged to follow their own interests, through a variety of child and adult led activities both indoors and outdoors.

You will have an opportunity to discuss your child’s progress in the Autumn and Spring term when you are invited into school at the parental consultation evenings. In addition, at the end of the Summer term you will receive a written school report. Please note that parents are welcome to discuss any concerns they may have at any time by either having a quick word with one of the staff in Reception before or after school or by arranging a longer appointment at a mutually convenient time.

Parental contribution and involvement related to your child’s learning is valued greatly.  Parents are encouraged to contribute any learning from home towards your child’s Learning Journal; this could be a photograph, drawing, piece of writing or an observation of something your child has said. Further information about this will follow.


The Maths Progression document has all the objectives for Mathematics in Years 1 to 6 organised by strand so that you can quickly see how the objectives progress in each area. 

Our Calculation Policy shows how the four operations are taught to children in each year group. More formal written methods are also explained.

Spelling, Grammar and Punctuation

The Reading Progression document shows the objectives for reading in Years 1 to 6 organised by strand, detailing the progression between each year group.


The Writing Progression document includes the objectives for writing in Years 1 to 6, detailing the progression between each year group.


Children in English schools take SATs twice during their school career.

The first time is in Key Stage 1, when they will have tests in Year 2, at the end of infants (aged 7). They are tested in maths and English (reading and spelling, punctuation and grammar). Teachers try to keep the testing procedure informal – the papers are not strictly timed, and are usually taken in a normal classroom situation to keep the pressure off children. 

The next time your child will take SATs will be in Key Stage 2 in Year 6, aged 11. More formal than Key Stage 1, these are written tests and are timed.